Programme - Wednesday 19 October


Wednesday 19 Oct

Streaming Forum Connect 2022

 

How to Differentiate your Delivery with Interactive, Real-Time Streaming

Wednesday 19 October: 13.00 - 14.00 BST / 14.00 - 15.00 CET / 08.00 - 09.00 EDT

Until recently, interactive streaming has been more promise than reality, but as the technologies that enable real-time streaming have matured, it's here. Today, ultra-low latency, real-time live video is being used for applications from video collaboration and auctions to sports, esports, and betting. What's possible with real-time streaming today, and what's around the corner? Join us to find out.

 

Codecs 2022 (and Beyond)

Wednesday 19 October: 14.30 - 15.30 BST / 15.30 - 16.30 CET / 09.30 - 10.30 EDT

Most streaming is still H.264, but video publishers have more options than ever before. Depending on your content and audience, AV1, HEVC, VP9, EVC, and LCEVC are all on the table. But how do you decide which codec(s) make sense for you and which you can safely ignore? This panel provides a fast-paced walk-through of performance, implementation status, and royalty situation for each of these codecs, giving you the information you need to make informed decisions.

 

Workflow Location Decisions: Cloud vs. On-Prem vs. Hybrid

Wednesday 19 October: 16.00 - 17.00 BST / 17.00 - 18.00 CET / 11.00 - 12.00 EDT

"The cloud" is getting bigger. Data centers are getting smaller. And hardware is getting more advanced. All of which means that the question "Should we move our workflows to the cloud?" can only be answered with "It depends." This panel looks at the questions you need to ask yourself to decide whether or not it makes sense to move some or all of your workflows to the cloud, keep them on-prem, or take a hybrid approach.